Correction only 8 at large teams where ACC must come-the 9
by Domerduck (2017-05-06 12:40:47)
Edited on 2017-05-06 12:43:01
[ Delete ]   [ Edit ]   [ Return to Arlotta Stadium ]   [ Show All Thread ]   [ Ignore Poster ]   [ Report Post ]   [ Highlight Poster ]   [ Reply ]

  In reply to: Correct-no auto qualifier for ACC. 9 conferences have  posted by Domerduck

conference qualifiers take 8 slots in the 16 team tourney but the two lowest ranked teams (no matter the conference) have 1 play in game so a total of 17 qualify. I was confused by the previous LAXpower article but the article linked here is clearer. Based on the April 22 reveal the ACC should have 3 at large (#1 Cuse, #4 ND, & #8 Duke) and Big 10 have 3 at large (#6 Hopkins, #7 PSU, & the loser of the #2 MD & #5 OSU B10 championship game). #3 Denver losing the Big East tourney still gets in for the 7th which leaves 1 slot remaining. Towson was #9 and they play UMass today at 10 am and Albany was #10 and they are playing Binghamton right now for their championship. If they both win the probable 8th at large will be the 4th ACC team-NC. If either or both lose that team (s) will compete with NC for the last at large spot.


The contents of this post represent the views of the author. is not responsible for its contents.