That's the only way for the 4th place team to miss out.
by NDMike2001 (2017-04-19 10:42:03)
Edited on 2017-04-19 11:35:58
[ cannot delete ]   [ Edit ]   [ Return to Soccer ]   [ Show All Thread ]   [ Ignore Poster ]   [ Report Post ]   [ Highlight Poster ]   [ Reply ]

  In reply to: I am confused by your answer.  posted by G.K.Chesterton



Generally England gets 4 (with the fourth place team going through qualification).

A Europa OR CL champion (not in top 4) would give them a 5th.

A Europa AND CL champion (not in top 4) still gives them 5, but the 4th place in the league would go to Europa next year.

EDIT: I read the original post wrong. A team could never make it into CL by simply placing 5th in the league. Most people usually ask what happens when a team outside of the league qualifiers wins a championship. And that's what I thought the question was. Because it's a relatively new rule that allows for the 5th team. We'll call it the Spuds Exception.




Replies:

The contents of this post represent the views of the author. NDNation.com is not responsible for its contents.